Little Larry Academy

By emyjane2

Larry amongst the nightingales

Best viewed *larger*

I've never heard a nightingale. I've heard recordings of them. But I've never been impressed. I've heard recordings of other songsters who I've never head *live* as it were but which I've liked better. So really they don't impress me. Robin song does though. Like the blackbird, it reminds of my childhood, as growing up in SE London, the song of the blackbird, wren, robin, dunnock - even wood pigeon was main stay, wherever you went, there was one or two, & not just the city but the countryside as well, I was lucky enough to spend some Sunday's in Buckinghamshire, with my great aunt Nell & my great uncle Jum & they had residents pairs of all these birds & I loved them back then too at a very young age indeed.

I had always read about tame garden birds - esp robins. But I never thought it would happen to me. But now it has. And I'm a supporter of Larry - in my eyes he is the best robin, the best songster, the best looker. But at the moment he has serious competition, there's Big Rob in the back garden & an alien robin singing in *his patch* as in, the ash tree on the other side of the hedge in the front garden (the tree above his nest with Lila in the holly). Larry these days in the dark, in a hedge, sometimes in the back garden, sometimes in the front, singing like there's cotton wool stuffed in his beak... am hoping he'll turn the volume up & fight his corner...! Feathery xxx's

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.