Words are not enough

A day that started at 06.20 when I went downstairs to say 'Goodbye' to Robin, who flies to Frankfurt today to see Aya and her parents for 72 hours before going on to Canada to see family and then to her new job, in Azerbaijan. 

Back home upstairs for a snooze and then turned on the TV for the news - and wished I hadn't. 

In to school just after 9am and the rest of the morning was taken up with supervising the annual Bosphorus boat trip, rounding off the academic year for our Lise Prep students - it was a stunningly beautifully perfect day of warm sunshine and sea breeze - they all had a great time, and I got to take more photos of the Blue, which is an astonishing turquoise these days, apparently due to a recent phytoplankton bloom.  (Interesting article here

Home, and turned on the TV for the news update - and stared for hours at the unbelievable horror as the entire Grenfell Tower block, all 26 floors, engulfed in flames, was reduced to charred remains.  I donated on line - several groups already collecting to support those who lost everything except their lives. "Just giving' crowd funding page here.

A brighter time when, mid evening from Frankfurt, Robin, Ron and Yuki Skyped me and I was able to see sweet Aya - at least virtually - first time for ages - and chat. My my how she's growing.  

Back to the news, always hoping for miracle stories of survivors, reduced to tears by the images of desperate, devastated people and most especially the incredibly brave fire fighters. Heroes all. 

 My heart goes out to all in the community - wretched, wretched day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.