Not a Humble Pie

This is a gloating cake...and you need an explanation.

Every year my friend John and I have a football season long wager. The stake is a pie/cake/tart of the loser's choice.


The photograph shows my winning "trophy"

You can see it has a football theme, with small boots plus the cockerel emblem of Tottenham Hotspurs Football Club while on the other side, there is a cannon, the emblem of Arsenal Football Club, barrel pointing downwards in supplication to the winning team.


You will tell immediately that I support Spurs.

The scoring system is very complex with points being awarded not just for a win or draw, but deduction for a loss. Other points are gained by substitutes scoring, a clean sheet, a winning goal in injury team and other such nonsense.

Spurs, always a better team, trounced Arsenal, resulting in my not so humble pie.


John played  this tribute while handing over the cake.


#COYS

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.