Catbird close-up

We had some excitement last night when I got home from my Historical Society Board meeting. T had picked me up and we heard some strange noises in the forsythia bush as we approached the house. We have about a zillion sparrows that roost there every evening and they were chirping and screaming. Suddenly, a gorgeous adult Eastern Screech Owl( they are very small owls) with rusty red and ivory feathers emerged and landed on a whirly-gig we have on a post in tucked in the bush. Then two noisy fledglings with grayish brown downy feathers flew out and landed on the barn roof in front of where she was perched. Mama Owl was doing some dusk flying and hunting practice with her newbies. I slipped inside and got my 300mm on the Nikon and snapped a few shots of one baby owl with my slow lens in the increasing darkness. Our hearts were beating fast and we were thrilled to watch and listen to the commotion they caused. They flew off into the dark woods and we were left awestruck.

This lovely gray Catbird was happy when she saw the fresh supply of grape jelly that I put out, her favorite treat.

For the Record, 
This day came in warm, dry and lovely.

All hands glued to the news

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.