Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Swallows

It's coming to that time of the year where I have spare leave days to use or lose, so when a nice day coincides with no meetings I can take some time out.

After dropping 9yo at school I walked back via Tong Park and Moorside. The Swallows had gathered at the dam for their morning feed, and a few paused on the fence for a photo.

I had fleeting glimpses of a Kingfisher on the dam and a Little Owl as I worked my way back up to Moorside, but both were too quick for my camera.

There was still time for my first Meadow Brown of the year, along with a Red Admiral, Large Skipper and Speckled Wood, and all this before breakfast.

I had a longer walk after lunch: along Baildon Bank to Shipley Glen and then down to Trench Meadows SSSI and then a short stretch along the river back to Roberts Park.  It had clouded over a fair bit by this time, and the wind was up, so not quite the butterfly fest I was hoping for, but I had luck with a Green Oak Tortrix in Shipley Glen and then my first Ringlet of the year at Trench Meadows, along with Green-Veined White, Meadow Brown, Speckled Wood and Large Skipper. And lots of orchids.

______________________________

Butterfly Journal 2017


21. 15/06/17 Meadow Brown, Moorside, Baildon (VC64)
22. 15/06/17 Ringlet, Trench Meadows SSSI, Baildon (VC64)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.