The Way I See Things

By JDO

Chrysanthemum

I thought I'd try something slightly different with the light pad today: photographing an angled bloom rather than a flat lay. This is a six-shot focus stack, (over)-processed in Photoshop; with hindsight I think I'd have been better just doing the stacking in PS, and then processing and sharpening in Lightroom where it's harder to overwork an image.

Part of the interest of this technique is that there's no recipe that suits every subject - I'm confident that over time I'll become experienced enough to know what set-up to use given the type of flower and the ambient light, and what level of processing is going to help rather than hinder the final image, but at the moment it's very much a case of trial and error. If you're interested I've now set up a Facebook album for some of my light pad photos, including (so far as I can remember) the settings and set-up for each one. I'll add to it as I go along.

As ever, many thanks to BikerBear for continuing to run Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.