BJH

By BJH

Bittersweet

Today's entry is a true emergency blip as there wasn't even time to think of looking for something else the rest of the day. The little bag, which I quickly took a photo of before leaving the apartment this morning, is filled with hair that Rosie lost when she was moulting over the years that we were together. It is there for when I want to feel again how soft she was.

Along with so many other items, this little bag fills me with sadness that Rosie is not with me anymore and that I can no longer stroke her, but it also reminds me how privileged I have been to have known her. After we our move, my mother and I were never able to create any good memories at the apartment before her health deteriorated. At least with Rosie there have been a few years here that I did have the chance to do that. She was also a great comfort to me after Mum passed away, which is something I can never thank her enough for. When I'm busy at work, I sometimes manage to forget how very much I still miss having her to talk to, seeing her run around or having a stretch, washing her face or relaxing at my feet, jumping onto the chair beside me or reaching up to me as high as she possibly could for her weekly treat with her front paws against my leg. When I'm home though, I'm constantly reminded of the fact that she is now with Mum.

You would think that work couldn't possibly get more hectic than it was yesterday but it did. On Friday though, my boss lets me finish my shift on time, even if the work hasn't all been done.

Many thanks for the kind comments and stars on yesterday's entry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.