Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Alone in a crowd

Liza and I scooted to "our" park this morning and from a couple blocks away I could tell there was a lot going on there. Soccer for kids is BIG in Portland. The field was full of teams of boys and girls playing and I loved watching them. I got some great action shots, but my eye and my lens kept being drawn to a little girl on the empty baseball diamond. She was having a grand time dancing, playing with the dirt and just hanging out there by herself. She seemed completely uninterested in what was happening around her.

When I looked at the photos I took of the kids playing I was struck by their focus and coordination and spirit. When I was that age, soccer was unheard of here in the States. To me, it seems like the perfect game for learning balance and coordination and for staying fit, and I wish I'd had the opportunity to play like that. My life would have been completely different I think!

View large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.