Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Study in Light

1
Since I decided to start a side project focused on the spaces unoccupied by human bodies, I have begun to discover a new world. Driving and walking through our town looking not at people but at the things they walk by, a recurrent object drew my attention: phone booths.

2
Public phone booths are leftovers from the technological progress in telecommunications. Very rarely do I see somebody actually using one of them, yet they all seem to be in perfect working conditions.


Many of them are strategically positioned where many people meet: in front of bars, churches, community centers, hospitals. 

4
In Portuguese, we call them orelhões, "big ears", because of their shape. 

5
By becoming irrelevant to daily life, they are now perfectly camouflaged: Nobody notices them, nobody talks into them anymore, but that doesn't mean that they don't hear anything.

6
I believe they know everything about what happens in our town. They are silent and patient spies in plain sight. They stand invisible on the same spot and register what happens around them. So I've decided to dedicate my secondary journal leftovers to documenting their surroundings in moments when there's nobody they can listen to. 

I took this picture in the early morning, just before sunrise. I had woken up to a misty morning, and the light was beautiful. So I decided to head out and find some big ears. You can see one of them leaning against the second lightpost. It had no idea it was being photographed and I didn't ask for permission. They never talk back to you, they only listen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.