Cowane's Hospital

Also known as the Guildhall

This is a 17th Century almshouse built by the legacy of Stirling merchant and benefactor John Cowane. Cowane's statue can just be made out above the door. His other name is Auld Staneybreeks. The first time I ever used this the spellchecker changed it to 'Old Stanley Brooks'. Just goes to show. Anyway the Guildhall is in a state of disrepair but is in line for some restoration. This is good news as it is a wonderful building near Stirling Castle and other historic bits of the town. It's been a beautiful day with sunshine and blue skies. Walked up to the Castle this afternoon. I fell into conversation with a friendly couple from Washington DC 'we're ashamed to say', they added. 'It's not your fault', I said. Not that Westminster elections have anything to teach about fairness but the Electoral College system really has me beaten.

I've got tons of gardening to do. I need to cut back quite severely and allow a second flush of flowers time to do their thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.