a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Remains of the day

"Bought a ticket to the birdcage, 
fold down my wings and clean my beak 
I’ve been waiting almost a week for a coffee 
that takes no time to drink 


Emily was wearing a nice dress, 
she brought a knife to cut the cake 
I find it so easy to stay awake 
when you don’t have no time to think 

Then Emily says, my daddy’s a rich man, 
he don’t want no pauper hanging around around me 
And I can see by your clothes, 
you ain’t got no place to start, 
it’s better not to give you my heart 
Than let you taint it, 
ain’t it true 

Took a walk to the dockyard, 
sitting pretty under the stars 
Thinking about what could’ve been ours, 
now it’s all mine 

See you after the storm she said, 
well what does that mean 
If I wasn’t so green 
I’d say the storm will never end 

'cause Emily says, my daddy’s a rich man, 
he don’t want no pauper hanging around around me 
And I can see by your clothes, 
you ain’t got no place to start, 
it’s better not to give you my heart 
Than let you taint it, 
ain’t it true 


'cause Emily says, my daddy’s a rich man, 
he don’t want no pauper hanging around around me 
Emily I store my fortunes, in different ways, 
and you know what they say 
The tougher the shell the softer the heart
The tougher the shell the softer the heart"

Lewis Creaven ~ Emily Says

Its been a lovely Summer's day.  Just delightful,  A day of chores yes, but also a day of relaxing in the sunshine and singing and playing guitar.  I'm not up to the standards of this 19 year old local lad though who not only plays guitar beautifully, he also writes lovely songs.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.