Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

A Sunday Story

After an early morning walk, breakfast in the park and then more walking right down to the lake, it had started to get really hot! My steps counter told me that I'd already done 10.000 steps, so it felt like a good idea to take the metro home!  

On a bench at the metro station, there was a forgotten posy of wild flowers starting to look a little wilted and rather thirsty. I waited five minutes for the next metro and nobody came to claim the flowers, so the kindest thing to do was to bring them home, trim their stalks and give them masses of water.  They soon perked up in my favourite fluted vase and they bring such a happy note on the small round table in my living room.

I had a feeling that these flowers had been picked by a young child as the stalks were at all different lengths and uneven.  I just hope that she (or he) didn't go back to look for them... and find them gone.  Well, new flowers can be picked but these have found a good  home in the meantime and brought me lots of pleasure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.