A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

13271

I am exactly 13,271 days old today, and that is a very difficult number to reach.  

Nearly seven years ago I lost my friend Stewart Charles, he was 36. Today I reach the precisely the age he was on that awful day in September 2010. 

Stewart was the most talented and passionate person I've ever met, he was an expert in so many aspects of digital media and photography yet he was absolutely driven to learn more, all the time expanding his skills, knowledge and capabilities. It breaks my heart to think of all the things he was on the cusp of achieving, all the projects he was on the verge of being involved with and never got the chance to, its so so sad. Stewart was dearly looking forward to becoming a Father, he was absolutely desperate to recover so he could be a Dad, a role he'd wanted above all others. Stewart's son was born 8 weeks after he died.

These are the things that stay with you and are never far from the surface, today it bubbles up and swamps everything else. 

Ive reached a milestone I needed to mark, and its been hard. Ive overtaken my older friend in age, but I could never overtake his incomparable passion, drive and self belief. On this day I remember you and everything you were, you;ll live on in all of our hearts, whatever our age may be... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.