and through the wire...

By hesscat

You've Got a Friend In Me

Today was the first chance we got to go over and visit my Dad's grave with the newly erected headstone. It's been just over 4 months since he passed away and we have had mixed thoughts on what to do with his ashes but finally decided on a peaceful cemetery in the middle of the countryside close to his regular dog walks.

We've found out so much that we didn't know about before, including an option to have a photo on the headstone. This is Barley who featured in my blip in February and is one of the two dogs my Dad snuck biscuit treats to when my Mum wasn't watching... although he did let Ms H in on the secret!

When I close my eyes and think of my Dad, it feels like he is still sitting in his chair at home having a cup of tea with a dog at his feet, like the past 4 months hadn't happened. Maybe that is because I didn't have another image to replace it with until now... well not replace but you know what I mean. The grave was looking lovely tonight, in the setting sun and bright flowers, with his pal keeping watch over him... I am sure he will be content with that...

When I was looking for a title for this blip and thought of this song (from Toy Story), I came across another version of it. I've seen these 2 do other songs and it reminded me of the times when I joined Ms H for some tunes although luckily she does the singing... I have been waiting a while for the next one :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.