Now I've seen everything!

Dear Diary,

I have heard of bottle trees but this is the first beer can tree I've seen and it is only a couple miles down the road from my house!  I was driving back from town and a glint of blue caught my eye on the side of the road so of course I needed to go back and see what it was.  It is not uncommon to see beer cans on the ground, thrown out by careless people who care nothing for the environment but this was a new twist on roadside littering.

Each can was hung like aluminum Christmas ornaments on a little sapling.  It is not near any house so whoever did this stopped along the side of the road to "decorate" the tree.  It will be interesting to see if they will add more or if this is a one hit wonder.

Cans and bottles get a 5 cent return here in Maine.  I will eventually take these down and bring them to our transfer station where the local high school track team collects cans and bottles to help pay for their program.  A much better use of ones time than ornamenting a tree on the side of the road, still, it made me smile for a moment and that is not a bad thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.