Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

The trouble with Skippers

I counted 19 "small" skippers on the heathland butterfly transect this morning, a record for this small site. This is a new transect that I took on this year when the previous recorder gave up saying it wasn't worth doing. I've recorded these as small skippers but I'm not convinced that they aren't actually Essex Skippers (the difference between the two comes down to the colour of the underside of the tips of the antennae - black for Essex, Brown for Small). Perhaps I'm letting myself be convinced by the previous records which all say 'small skipper'. Anyway, what was more remarkable, and another record, is that I also recorded just over 100 meadow browns. In total 125 butterflies, in five species, recorded in 35 minutes - not bad for a site that's "not worth doing"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.