laurenla

By laurenla

Getting Started

Ok so this is my first attempt at blogging, ever. Let alone blogging complete with my amateurish photographer's eyes. But taking a look through blip i became intrigued and wanted to see if i could to this. Can i make my mundane life into a blog? Who would even want to view it!

I've JUST started a leisure photography course for several reasons.
1. I love photographs. I love how a picture has the power to make you feel an emotion in just a few seconds, and how memories can be trapped within them forever. I want to get away from the thought that a camera should only be brought out at 'special occasions.' Why is every day not a special occasion?
2. I bought a starter DSLR around a year ago, during my degree, and have never become fully acquainted with it, so i wanted to learn how to escape automatic mode, the monotonous pictures that seem to cascade the likes of Facebook (mine included!) and see if I could start seeing the every day with a different eye and try to capture some of this with my camera.
3. I'm planning (once i get a lot of money together) to travel. I want to be able to step away from the simple tourist photos and make my little journey memories a little better, a little more unique to me.

So today i joined in earnest. I have 'homework' for class so was ready to go out and see the world and see what i could accomplish after just 2 hours of class.

Then it rained.

So this afternoon as been spent reading a New Zealand guide book (can you guess where i want to go on my travels?!) and drinking coffee. (Really the photo is extremely self explanatory). So no exciting photos today, here's hoping tomorrow is a better day, here's hoping this is the first in a long line of blips!

Lauren x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.