TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Be alert, but not alarmed!

I decided to go for something really tiny in the pursuit of fauna for today's TT.  I called a friend to ask if she had any aphids on her roses. "I don't think so", she said, "But you are welcome to check". Well, she was not at all pleased with these pics, I can assure you.  Firstly I thought I had a whole bunch of different beasties on her rosebud, but then on checking I find that what I have here, and more so in my extra, is the whole life cycle.  The winged aphids are a result of overcrowding, enabling them to fly elsewhere to mate and reproduce again.  Those that remain produce live young without fertilisation.  It is a fascinating story.  Life under the microscope or through a macro lens is really quite enthralling. Looks better in large.
Thanks isbi for continuing to host this fun challenge.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.