EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Memories

Today I tried to organize a closet . It contains so many boxes of all the things that I have collected in my life. This little (12 cm ) silk doll dress was made out of an old silk blouse by my mom. I did not dare to iron it as the silk is so old now and my iron so big. I was touched by her skill and the love she put into making something so beautiful for me with so little means. My parents got married in 1944 and in postwar Germany there were not many things to be bought if you were rather penniless. So my mother knitted our sweaters and sewed all our clothes, even winter coats. Nothing was wasted, and to get something new was very special. I think that I did not appreciate all the beautiful things she made at the time as much as I do now. Next to all this she did the laundry by hand until I was 15, cleaned the house and prepared all our meals. It does not surprise me now that it was always a little drama at the time, when we children had stained our clothes.
Thinking of my mother now brings her hands to my mind. I cannot remember ever seeing them idle.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.