Adam's Images

By ajt

Hummingbird Hawk-Moth

This morning we cycled to the Commonwealth War Grave Cemetery in town. It was started by a locale French woman during the second world war and today it holds 325 graves. It contains some of the men from the raid on Saint Nazire and some lost in the Lancastria disaster. I didn't think it was appropriate to blip, I've no family in in and thought it was best left in private.

In the late afternoon we went for a walk in town. The town centre is very pretty and had a nice large planted area with plenty of flower beds full of pretty flowers. By the time we had got to one end I was taking a picture of a flower when this beasty shot into view. Given that it's a slowish shutter and I wasn't actually trying to photograph it it's come out quite well.

The blip is a hummingbird hawk-moth (Macroglossum stellatarum). We get them in the village on warm years but this far south in Brittany they are probably a lot more common. I actually got some nice pictures from today, but this one was a no-brainer for a blip. Shame I didn't have my decent camera and macro lens though... C'est larvae as they say in entomology circles!

(back blip)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.