Day3-Llooking over Loch Stenness

Well I never! If any one was in doubt that the late blipper, JoppaStrand, was indeed late in the dead sense, let me assure you that he and Tiggy are very much alive and kicking as we found to our delight when we were hailed by them on our postprandial ramble around the little lanes of Stromness .
We couldn't quite believe our eyes when they appeared out of nowhere behind us, the only people within half a mile. Neither they nor we knew of each other's presence on the island until yesterday morning, when Tiggy happened on my Blipfoto entry for Sunday.
It was great to see them and we have arranged to get together later in the week for a meal. Our social calendar is beginning to fill up.

This morning to my surprise another blipper, Croftcrafts, who I hadn't realised was in Orkney rang me this morning to say she had just missed me in Kirkwall yesterday and now it was too late to meet up as she was leaving this morning. Blipfoto has increased my social interactions by a huge number.

With 4 engine powered wheels now at our disposal rather than 4 pedal powered wheels, we meandered up our favourite cycling route to Dounby and on to Birsay with stops at various places for photo opperchancities.
Although it was a tad dull with a temperature of 9 degrees, even that failed to spoil the colours of the Orkney landscape-shades of green and umber with roadside wildflowers a riot of colour and the cattle white, brown and black fattening up nicely in fields of mown grass and yellow with buttercups. All that was missing was the bright blue of the lochs mirroring a blue sky, but we can wait, we have three weeks.

My blip is, I think, is Loch Stenness and the extra the display of poppies on the road above Stromness. If it isn't Loch Stenness but Loch Harray then I do apologise

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.