Life through the lens...

By ValC

La Tarte Tropezienne.

My Tiny Tuesday blip.
The tiny sugar sprinkles on the top of my slice of Tarte Tropezienne.
It was absolutely delicious. Mr C helped me to eat it too as it was such a huge slice.
I had heard about this gateau before, and so when we found the shop in Bandol  ( a branch of the one in St Tropez) I just had to try a slice.
We sat at a small table outside the shop, and the proprietor brought it on plate with two spoons, and two serviettes. ( No extra charge)

It is actually a brioche filled with cream. Not cream as we know it, but a creme patisserie. Very rich and very yummy!
First created by Alexandre Micka in St Tropez in 1955.
It was a favourite of Bridget Batdot's, who christened it Tarte Tropezienne when she was in the South of France filming her debut movie  " And God Created Women".
Best publicity anyone could have!

See extra for the window full of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.