Blackberry Way

By bridgeman

Old gig tickets - Ken Campbell

So, it was 25 years ago today that best beloved and I went to see Ken Campbell's performance of Pigspurt at the Battersea Arts Centre. I umd and ahd about whether this counted as a gig or not, but eventually decided it did. Although a solo spoken word performance, Campbell was really effectively riffing and improvising on a theme, very much like a jazz soloist. I'd seen Pigspurt performed to a packed house at Hammersmith Riverside earlier in its run, but this BAC gig was sparsely attended. This didn't phase Campbell one bit, he entered carrying a Polaroid, took a picture of the crowd, and then spent the first few minutes describing his fascination with small crowds and how they arranged themselves in the stalls. "You lot look a bit like an apple core!" It was a great show and thankfully Mrs D still wanted to go out with me after I'd put her through it. Much missed, our Ken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.