RetiredDBA

By RetiredDBA

Earlyish morning on Derwent Water

I was doing a walk starting from Buttermere. I left much earlier than needed so I could stop and take some photos if there was good light. As I drove through Borrowdale the light on Derwent Water was exquisite so I parked up at the bottom of the Watendlath road and set myself up on the landing jetty. Before getting to Buttermere I stopped again to take the Buttermere pines.

The walk went up the side of Buttermere and then up the main ridge of Fleetwith Pike to the top. We continued to Dubs quarry, past Innominate Tarn to Haystacks and then back along the other shore. A lovely walk and after the heat of the last few days conditions were much more tolerable.

Before returning home I called in at the Sticklebarn in Great Langdale to meet a friend from Tunbridge Wells who is holidaying here this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.