Piper Wood from Oakley Road

A raft of cloud protected us from excessive heat today. By evening, it began to feel almost chilly. Personally, I found that a great relief. I'm not one to cruise around in the midday sun.

Singing session at Judy's although hay fever began to interfere with the voice before the end. We've arranged our traditional birthday lunch for a fortnight's time.

Driving back to Shepshed, I detoured via Nanpantan Reservoir, only to discover that it's closed until further notice, except to fishermen. I could see some barriers up at the side bearing a sign from Severn Trent Water. Perhaps the water main has burst again. Once again, I felt extremely annoyed at being denied access.

A veil of mist hung over Charnwood Forest, visible even in today's photo taken from Oakley Road across the valley of the BlackBrook looking north towards Piper Wood.

I managed to take Basil out for a walk properly for the first time for nigh on three weeks. I just haven't felt well enough to walk far. Basil was very excited to hit the high grass bounding and leaping through it. If anyone was interested in physical geography, there's plenty to take notice of in our area.

One field was planted with oats, another across the track with barley. The breeze rippled through it. I managed to capture that on camera. It seems to be a year for arable. I've also seen broad beans, and there's plenty of oil seed rape to harvest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.