The Way I See Things

By JDO

Embracing the chaos

I'm a bit staid when it comes to photography: I like nice tidy shots with the subject in the appropriate place and no messy distractions. Which is strange really, because in real life I'm pretty disorganised, and I spend more time being distracted by things messy and otherwise than I do on whatever it is I'm supposed to be achieving.

Anyway, today I decided to take a stroll around Tilly's field in search of butterflies, but so as to maximise my chances of getting some photos without trampling on anything I took my long lens - and very rapidly realised that this meant I was going to have to ditch tidiness in favour of something more impressionistic. And then discovered that (within reason) I do quite like this kind of shot. To show you what I mean, I've put a few of the keepers on Facebook.

Today the field was largely populated by Meadow Browns, but I also found a few Ringlets, and eventually spotted a single Large Skipper - probably the same one I photographed on Saturday. I was a little sad because once again I failed to find the faded Common Blue I saw last week, and I think he's probably died. But I cheered up immediately when I caught a flash of white, and realised that I was on the trail of my first Marbled White of the year. It took me a few minutes (and I confess, a little careful trampling) to track him to rest and then get to a position from which I could focus on him; the first shot I managed is the one I've put in as an extra, and in the spirit of embracing the chaos it's actually my favourite of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.