You Found Me!

He or she was hiding, actually trying to catch a nap. I would never have even seen him if it weren't for a very upset hummingbird that was buzzing around him, trying to get him to move on. I heard the excited peeping of the hummer and went to investigate. And there he was. I found a bit of a path into the part of the forest where he was hiding and grabbed some shots of him. He watched me and then decided I was harmless so he dozed off. Later I came back to find him and he was gone. I think the hummingbird must have finally gotten her way. By the way, this is the parent. Thanks so much for all the comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's photo of the babies.

I went to my doctor's office today and was surprised to learn that my blood pressure was way down from where it had been most of the time I was caring for Arvin. It was back to my usual when I was young. And my doctor commented on how relaxed and healthy I seemed. And I can feel the difference myself. I am really glad I could care for Arvin during his disease but caregiving took its toll on me. And now I am recovering. Yes I grieve the loss of my love. But more deeply I am healing from all the stress for four long years. People tell me they are sorry for my loss. And I am very touched that the are so caring. But what may not be obvious is that the loss was occurring on an ongoing basis for a long time. So the final loss feels more like relief that loss. And yes, when I talk of Arvin's sweetness, kindness, gentleness, sense of humor and his unconditional love of me, well, yes. I do choke up. But my deepest feeling is love and not sorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.