Father B's inflatable banana

This morning, my friend Mary and I  attended the funeral mass for the father of one our old school friends.   Before you read on, if you can be bothered to read on,  It was a very moving mass and there was  a Tenor with a really beautiful voice singing some of the prayers in Latin.

No fun getting togged up in black and trying to stay cool without showing too much flesh on one of the hottest days ever. 

After the mass  as we milled about outside the church saying all the right wrong things it was noted that Father B (pictured) , who bears a striking resemblance to Alan Bennett, had an inflatable banana hanging in the bedroom window of the parochial house.    Most amusing for us and it      provided the opportunity for some much needed chortling after the formalities of a full Catholic requiem mass, I can tell you.    

... not that Mary and I got the giggles at all after a nip of the old communion wine... oh no, God forbid....we are far too mature and sensible..

Sorry I am still behind with everyone and I'm sorry if anyone finds the above irreverent.  I am a good girl deep down.. honest.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.