Summer

The common New England roadside and garden day lily says summer to me like no other flower. I grew up with them ringing the back door of this old house, their festive orange heads greeting me, swaying softly in the breezes. I ducked by them bounding up the steps to what we used to call the alleyway, a covered entrance linking the house and barn. The run up the path to be with my grandparents once school was out was a daily summer ritual. As an adult, still in school as a teacher, orange day lily blooms announced that joyous news once again, school is out !

Summer Solstice, 2017

For the Record, 
This day came in with warm temps and glorious June sunshine. Our window restorer is removing two more of our upstairs windows for repair and I'm busy with my Fairy House activity preparations. I missed a chance to go into Boston to join DDW & Memories4me at the Tall Ships, my week is sadly just too busy :(

All hands disappointed with the special election results.

Peanut loving cottontail sequence

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.