Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wild Baby Week - Smile!

Although I'm not pleased to have English/House Sparrows in my garden, they have been part of this year's nesting season and I suppose that earns them a spot in my Wild Baby Week.  This youngster must have just fledged in the last 24 hours as it's flight was weak and erratic.  It sort of crash-landed on the trunk of our little shadbush tree and hitched up to the notch where it sat awhile as if to collect itself.  It still has the big baby gape that nestlings have, making it look like some sort of goofy clown smile. 

I awoke in much better spirits this morning, I'm happy to say.  I was up at 6:30 so had my tea on the patio and enjoyed watching the comings and goings of all the birds.  Definitely more hummers in the garden now (making me very happy).  

After breakfast, I had a nice walk/macro safari at a nearby pond.  Followed by a great visit with MIL (who was totally on top of her game today) then lunch with a friend.  On the way back up the driveway, I spotted what looked like one of the baby wrens pop out of the garden and up into a tree, followed by Mama.  Hallelujah.  Dare I hope that they've all made it?  

The swallowtail caterpillar continues to eat parsley and grow - now approaching 1.5 inches.  I suspect it will look for a place in the enclosure to form its crysalis soon. Must remember to put a couple of sterile twigs in there.  Meanwhile, in anticipation of monarchs, I have about 20 tropical milkweed plants in pots and have two organic/chemical-free sources to pick fresh common milkweed.   I've not yet seen any monarchs here, but it's still a little early as we get the second generation.

Thank you for stopping by.  And don't forget to tag your Wild Baby Week entries with WBW followed by date.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.