My happy little life

By khoola

The longest day

I had my reservations about visiting a Muslim country during Ramadan. I've been here before, but never at this time of year. I worried that it wouldn't be as enjoyable. I needn't have worried.

To be here, to see the local people cope admirably during the longest, hottest day (40+ degrees and 16 hours and 25 minutes of daylight) without food, water or cigarettes, to see them retain their good humour throughout, to feel the palpable tension as the sun slowly set behind the atlas mountains, and then to see groups of friends who couldn't make it home at the end of their day break their fast with friends, finally relaxed and rejuvenated, smiling and laughing and congratulating each other on another day done - it's been an absolute privilege to witness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.