fleeting visions

By eyeGillian

Dairy Queen

When I was younger, my parents liked to pile us 3 kids in the car and go for a "family drive" on Sunday afternoons. My parents have always loved to travel, and explore the country and coast near our home, so we spent a lot of time as children in the back of the car, fighting over who had to sit on the "hump" in the middle of the back seat. On sunny days, for a treat, sometimes those drives ended with an ice cream from the Dairy Queen. My mother would order a Dilly Bar, and my dad would get an ice cream sandwich and maybe we kids would get a soft cone dipped in chocolate, or a sundae or even (a splurge) a Peanut Buster Parfait!

Today it's a sunny Sunday afternoon, but I have work to do (and gas is really expensive) so we didn't go for a drive. But we bundled up the dogs in their collars and leashes and went for a short walk around the neighbourhood. As we walked by the Dairy Queen, we saw several families stop to buy ice cream. It reminded me of an earlier innocent time -- the time wasn't innocent, but I was... now I know how many calories are in a Dairy Queen ice cream and I keep my distance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.