Broken

Just as I was leaving for yoga class this afternoon, my husband informed me that his iPhone would no longer charge.  I knew what this meant.  As soon as I got home we would have to go to the Apple Store and get him a new one.  There was nothing about this that I liked. 

My husband hates changing his phone and if he had his way he would still be using his Palm Treo.  I have been warning him for ages that his iPhone 5 was on borrowed time.  It had once been mine and I have since had two newer versions, but he has been stubbornly clinging to this one.  I wanted this to be a quick and easy transaction.  We knew what we wanted..."let's get in and out," I said.   Unfortunately, the sales person was a very nice fellow but he was quite loquacious and went on and on about things my husband was not interested in and I already knew.  

Then, of course, we had to deal with our cellular phone carrier.  In the past, there was always a significant discount on the price of the phone as long as we signed another 2-year contract.  We have been doing this with every phone purchase since the beginning of cellular time.  Well, while I wasn't looking, they changed that marketing gimmick and no longer require a contract.... but you must pay full price!  We are still suffering from the sticker shock.  

Tonight he is the reluctant owner of an iPhone 7 and I am sure in a few weeks he will stop pointing out all the things that annoy him. 

As this event took much more of my attention than I wanted, I was left with no blip so I have taken an iPhone shot of my well-deserved glass of wine and played around with one of the many iPhone apps.  I thought I might be suitable for Abstract Thursday.    It loosely fits the theme as It was taken inside the porch. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.