Government Funded Daydreaming

What a beautiful notion! There's even an Imagineering TV advertisement at the start of this BBC documentary being shown in the foyer of the Ryan Gander exhibition, These Wings Aren't For Flying, which I went to this morning. I didn't know anything about Ryan Gander before I went but I had seen the flyer at the Fantastic Art In Belgium exhibition I went to on Wednesday and thought it looked interesting. I'm glad I went. Gander's work is by turns humorous, provocative, childlike and playful but always, even at it's most seemingly frivolous, you are acutely aware that there is a mind well-versed in art history with something serious to communicate. I've added a few of my favourite exhibits in the extras, and part two of the Ryan Gander documentary is here.

"Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up." (Pablo Picasso)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.