LaurenceA1

By LaurenceA1

Malcolm Burn RA

This evening I attended the last Foundation Art and Design show at the School of Art and Design, Westwood Campus (Yorkshire Coast College) Scarborough, North Yorkshire.

The last at this site as Yorkshire Coast College becomes Scarborough TEC once again and moves from it's two sites of Lady Edith's Drive (Scalby Road) and Westwood Campus to the vacated University site on Filey Road.

So just who is Malcolm Burn ? Only one of the most influential Lecturers at the College in the late Twentieth Century. I arrived at the College in 1988 and worked with Malcolm for many years before he retired. I have the utmost respect for Malcolm for his skills and craft as a Teacher of Art and his positive attitude and dedication to the job. I learned a lot from him and he gave me the confidence and professionalism to continue at the School of Art long after he had gone. I too retired in 2011 but I have not forgotten my ex-colleagues. Malcolm joined me this evening and his presence was well received by all. Malcolm is truly a legend and just approaching the age of Ninety.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.