Enjoying...

... Mother Nature's work. This group of young Amish women were visiting from Pennsylvania and enjoying the sights at Niagara Falls.  They made for such a lovely image.

I went to talk to them and asked them if they'd be willing to turn around for a pic with the falls in the background. I got two conflicting answers at the same time: "yes" and "no."  Then a rapid conversation in their language right afterwards. I could pick out a few words as the Pennsylvanian Amish have German roots and I speak that language. The gist of it is that they aren't allowed to pose: that would be self-indulgent. But they did agree to the shot I'm posting :)

Then the skies opened up and it poured (I hope there's no correlation here...), so off we went, back to D.C. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.