Flower ..........

........ Friday23  (FF23) ........ Purple pointy stuff.
(I used to think it was Loosestrife but I don't think it is).
 
Yesterday's WBBN was taken in ........ (drumroll please) - the bar of the Penta Hotel in Kleinmachnow near Potsdam, Berlin, Germany. 
(other hotel chains are available).
The clues were the white lights above the bar - "ph" - Penta Hotel - and showing on the TV Germany were playing Chile in a football (soccer) match - the score 1-1.
 
I love going to Berlin but, sadly, don't make the work trip as often as I used to - my 600 kms drive was up to Rostock and back - a very nice rental vehicle - and it was fun to be able to drive at speeds of up to 90mph (140kmh - legal on certain stretches) on the autobahn with drivers who are actually used to that and don't dawdle about in the centre and outside lanes!!! 
 
In other news - we have decided to have our suite reupholstered rather than replaced - a very nice man came this morning to measure up and he brought lots of sample fabrics (I had already sent him copious measurements and photos of both sofas and the chair and he had provisionally email quoted on those at £30/metre - so his measuring was very, very quick - all of ten minutes).
 
I/we knew what we DIDN'T want (stripes, plain, checks, big flowers, tiny 'busy' patterns, blue or pink) so a lot of the samples didn't even make it into the house and, of course, my three finalist fabrics were all at the higher end of the cost scale - more than twice his initial quotation - but the decision was made and it will be done - albeit not until September (he's very busy) but that's fine - in the grand scheme of things another couple of months will make no difference.  I will take photos!
 
What was actually extra-nice was that he knew my Mum when she had her antique shop and had done some bits of work for her on pieces for the shop - I felt (and feel) quite emotional about that as I am sure she would have recommended him if she had still been here - maybe it's karma?
 
Thank you for all your comments, stars and hearts this week - I'm a very bad "return commenter" of late - am not sure where all the hours in the day vanish to when I am not looking!!!!
 

~ Anni ~


Backblipped Saturday 24 June 2017

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.