Giggleswick Scar

Tony is running a coaching course in the Lake District this weekend and set off early this morning.  I decided to have a walk and went with him as far as Clapham.  Once in the village I took a bridleway past Ingleborough Hall, memories of several school trips!  The original owner of the Hall built a large and very dark tunnel (great for scaring youngsters on night orienteering!) so that his view would not be spoiled by his staff walking to and from the village!  On my walk this morning I had to go through two spooky tunnels which I hadn't come across on previous visits.

Once on the top of the moor, I set off in the direction of Austwick with great views of the limestone rock of Thwaite along the way.  Dropping down in to Austwick I took a path to the village of Feizor.  Once back on the moor I stopped to chat with a farmer on his buggy, sadly he was heading back home with a dead sheep he had come across.  It was with lamb, so two lives lost.

The path eventually arrived on the top of Giggleswick Scar.  It was overcast all morning so not the best conditions for blipping.  I walked down levels of limestone pavement dotted with scrubby trees.  Apart from the farmer I hadn't seen a soul in three hours so how bonkers was it to meet a walking group, three of which were from my home village?!

Arriving in Settle, I just had time to pick up a takeaway coffee and head to the station for the train home.  A good walk with lots of variety en route.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.