What a surprise

I was in Exeter this morning doing a bit of shopping.  I then decided to eat my lunch in the local park and take a few photos of flowers there.  So the compact camera was set up for macro photos and a few taken.  I headed to the exit where I could see a van and two police officers and behind them a group of cyclists with no clothes on.  I did a double take and watched as they quickly got on their bicycles.  I managed to take a few photos so decided to post one for the sheer impressiveness of the protest.

Once home I found that it was reported that the event was organised by environmental campaigners as part of a World Naked Bike Ride.  The naked bike ride takes place to raise awareness of the vulnerability of cyclists, to highlight the lack of facilities for cyclists, to oppose oil dependency, to support the use of sustainable transport, to endorse the joys of cycling and to promote body image and the joys of nudity.

The first world naked bike ride was held in Exeter in June 2011 when more than 40 cyclists rode down the city's High Street.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.