Rodents rule

By squirk

Fairy Glen

Fred and I drove out to the Black Isle for a walk. We stopped off at the Fortrose café for a spot of lunch, then headed to the Fairy Glen at Rosemarkie. My parents used to take me on this walk when we lived in Avoch in 1981 and I have fond memories of it. The woodland was fine and green – very lush. I spotted dippers here and there, especially at the furthest waterfall, though failed to capture one on camera. I saw the perfect shot but I wasn't fast enough. The dipper had dipped by the time I pressed the button. Hey ho. At that furthest waterfall, folk had pressed coins into the fallen branches along the water's edge. There are hundreds of them.

On work news, my book Secrets of Animal Camouflage has been given a silver/honor award in the Eureka! Book Awards for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Readers from the California Reading Association. Whoop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.