Golden-ringed dragonfly

Stalking. Both of us.
Voracious mid-air snapping.
Surpassed me by far.

Thanks so much for all your love, comments and confetti on yesterday's horsefly.  I'm really glad you liked him too.  This dragonfly's a first for me today.  Although I've read that dreadful word 'common' again.  

A family of fledged wrens caught my eye down in the little ravine on the moors.  This four winged 'bird' was flying nearby as they scattered.  We sat in the shelter of the edge for about half an hour watching him hunt.  It's the most amazing thing to watch and hear.  Shortly after I took this picture, I watched his head tip back as he'd seen a fly above and he went straight in for the attack, caught him but didn't keep hang on.  Moments after, he was chasing a fly or maybe a bee, snapped and tumbled into the fern.  He didn't reappear for a while so I'm guessing he had lunch.

We went home for ours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.