Privileged

A simply wonderful day today.
I'd planned to be on the first service lift - but waking to heavy rain in the early hours I knew that needed to change - if only I'd remembered to cancel that early alarm!

With the day forecast to get better and better I set out mid-morning. La Flegere lift was busy with tourists heading for Lac Blanc but at the 1995m station it was complete cloud, many just turned straight back down. I chose to ride the Index lift alone up to 2595m. From here I traversed East under the Crochure Arete. Gradually gaps in the cloud appeared, the stunning rock formations of the Aguille Rouge to my left, glimpsed peaks of the Mont Blanc Massif to my right, but mostly swirling atmospheric cloud.
I knew that beneath me hundreds of folks would be on the TMB path, 500m higher and wilder I saw a grand total of 5, it was sublime. The Alpine flowers are out in force and in and out of the clag I was sure they would be my blip. But no. Today belongs to the Bouquetin.
At the Tête Aubuy I saw the first one. As ever I stopped knowing there would be more - and sure enough a large family group slowly appeared as my eyes focused and picked out their surprisingly well camouflaged shapes. I took my time edging ever closer, rock by rock- some of them never even opened their eyes, but those that did sized me up fairly quick and seemed happy enough. Eventually I was right in their midst, probably less that 10foot away. I sat and spent an hour or so watching these lazy laughing (see extras) masters of their environment. The young played, knocked heads, mounted and gamboled, the elders lazed and snoozed. I've read that these creatures only eat for a couple of hours each day , the rest is social and sleeping time. Today I was privelidged to share a bit of that time with them.
As the clouds rolled back in I knew I had to move on. Reluctantly I crossed paths with the hordes at Lac Blanc and then took an off path route through the many Lacs des Cheserys. The main TMB path passes one, but no-one seems to visit the beautiful others. A wonderful place to linger, each lake offering something slightly different to the last. Water crystal clear and full of newts, bouquetin drinking from the far shore, wind rippled mountain reflections.
Paradise found.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.