A Day of Contrasts

This is a view of Lacey Green windmill where I paused to take a quick look/blip after a day helping out with a RPS advisory session. This is the oldest surviving smock mill in England and its unique wooden machinery dates from 1650.  The sun was strong but the clouds rolling over.

The day had not gone as I expected!  As you know, I am working towards an A panel for the RPS and have seen an adviser on three occasions.  At our last meeting he said that thirteen of the images were good and I needed to add a couple more to complete the panel.  Fair enough.  Today, not only did he not approve of the two I had added in BUT he now decides that several of the others he has already seen on more than one occasion are not right either.  He has done this to me before.  To say I am miffed is putting it mildly and I am also quite confused as to how to proceed.  I was expecting the two additional images to not be quite right but not that the others were now not right as well. This same adviser upset several others who had come for advice - more about how he said things rather than what was said - no sensitivity as to effort and care people have put in!  Other advice was to seek a second opinion!  I will be doing that.

I will recover and move forward to achieve my goal.  Despite setbacks and annoyances, this whole process is really improving my photography. No gain without pain!

Probably lots more trips to Birmingham necessary HIldasrose - and lunches!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.