Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

A Day at the Races

In December 1998 I did a trek to Sandakhphu to stand on a mountain with a cup of tea to watch the sunrise on the high peaks of Everest, Lhotse, Makalu and Kangchenjunga.  4 of the 5 highest peaks in the world.  Everest, Lhotse and Makalu were more or less in a line but you had to turn around to see Kangchenjunga which was much closer in any event and very hard to miss if you are in Darjeeling as it towers over the hill town.  Needless to say it was a magic sunrise.   We had started the trek in Nepal and on the way back did a quick cross into Sikkim and then back into India.  I never did get to like Yak butter but did learn to appreciate hair washing water and a short trek day but I digress.  

We had a few days in Darjeeling at the end of the trek and were there for it’s inaugural race day.  One of the directors of the company we did the trek with was based in Darjeeling and had been involved and invited us as her guests.  There had been a lot of preparation for this race although I am not sure what she did.  A mountain top had to be levelled and a track made and then horses and jockeys had to be found.  I think the only horses within cooee were mountain ponies who were not particularly known for their galloping skills.  The race itself was quite amusing with some of the ponies not being able to raise more than a brisk walk let alone a canter which the winning pony achieved.

As with most things Indian it was a wonderful, noisy and colourful affair.  We were decked in marigolds and blessed.  The Maharajah of Jodphur was the honoured guest who opened the races.  We sat three rows behind him in the marquee and mixed the high and mighty, the ladies dripping in jewels.  I was, I am ashamed to say, wearing my second to least best trekking gear not really befitting such a prestigious affair.  My 15 minutes of fame was when I was interviewed for the radio where I gushed about how wonderful it all was and how honoured I was and where I came from etc etc. 

I took a photo of these girls who were part of the celebrations.  In 1998 digital cameras were only pipe dreams although not really that far off.  I got my first digital DSLR in late 2003 so this shot was taken with film, probably kodak.  I had it enlarged and framed and it used to sit in my office until it fell off the wall and it has been sitting behind a cupboard for a while.  So not the best to show you because of difficulties of getting a shot of it what with the size and the reflections on the glass but you get the idea don’t you. 

A reminder of my 15 minutes of fame and some very happy times. 

I did a quick google to see if racing had ever taken off in Darjeeling and it would appear that the land was taken over by the army and civilians are not allowed to enter.  I am not really surprised you know.

Now thanks so much for the response to yesterdays Barnacle Bill I do hope to thank people individually time permitting.  What a lot of barnacles that whale had.  A theory proposed for the breaching is to rid themselves of some barnacles, but again I digress.  It took me 5 hours to do the ID photos last night and I now have to start on the training presentations for the new volunteers next Saturday so I am going to be AWOL for a few days.  Catch you when the dust has settled and thanks to Dollykgray for her interesting challenges for Mono Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.