Auguries

By McCaviti

Waddle Giggle Gaggle Gargle

There was not much giggling yesterday when we got terrorised by magpies, even after trying an alternative bike route.

Im spent a lot of time fantasizing about how alley cats* could rid the world of all the nasty magpies in Spring - she doesn't care if they're just trying to protect their babies, who likes those babies anyway.... And why do some people have to get hayfever too.... The world is just so unfair.... Babble Bibble Bauble Blahblah...

Soon her grandfather will be back to protect her - she would certainly commend his approach. Not that I'm telling!

I thought I caught a magpie threatening the washing today, but there was neither washing nor magpie when I returned with my camera, and I had to make do with this distant evocation of magpie malignity.

* I am not sure Canberra has such a thing as alley cats, feral is more our style. But who am I to dispose of youthful romantic allusions, at least while the tooth fairy is still alive (and yet to visit).

The title is an allusion to Pamela Allen's book concerning the same problem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.