Monomonday: Feeling A Little Remote

I've been suffering with a bout of my occasional dizzy spells the last few days, which leave me feeling slightly detached from reality, a sense of there being a delay between what the eyes see and the reaction of brain and body which, while it doesn't stop me doing things, just leaves me with a disconcerting unsteadiness.

As you can see, it doesn't stop me making dodgy visual and verbal puns: the small remote on the right is for the gates to the underground parking at our son Chris's flat which has given up the ghost and we've spent part of the day trying to get a replacement for at a (what seems exorbitant) cost of £54.

Apart from giving a sense of scale, I've included the TV remote as a link to my very minor claim to fame when in the 1990s I was interviewed for local TV in my role as Head of English; it was so insignificant, I can't even remember what it was about (the impact of the National Curriculum I think) , although I do remember it being a fairly lengthy and nerve-wracking interview which was edited down to about 60 seconds when it was broadcast!

Anyway we started de-cluttering our garage today, in preparation for the promised arrival of our friendly local builder to replace the windows and guttering and generally make it leak proof.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.