Loch Glendhu

Despite today being promised to be the best day of the week, it was a rather grim start, with a fine haar and low cloud until about 10am. After that, it did brighten up considerably, and the cloud has lifted, mainly to well over 3000 feet (that can be calculated by reference to whether the local Munro Ben More Assynt is in cloud or not). We decided on the Loch Glendhu shoreside walk which, despite being along a shore, actually comprised more than 100 of your fitbit floors. And about 25,000 (often quite rough) steps. So we were pretty pooped when we got back to the car, and treated ourselves to pies (and beer) in the village to scoff when we got home. No one felt like doing anything more tiring than switching the oven on!

I've added a few extras from an excellent day of walking, including a honeysuckle absolutely clogged with sticky midges (Mr McNasty was quite in evidence at a few points today), the "great reveal" as you come over a rise and see the end of the Loch, with the bothy, and a close up of the bothy and the hunting lodge. We met an interesting man called Chris hanging out at the bothy, and chatted to him for a while. And three young people were heading in for a night of fun, carrying with them amongst other things a bucket of coal. I suspect Chris would have been pleased to see that.

Fitbit tells me I've done 1 of 3 days of exercise. Excuse my French, but if I sat on my fat a*se for the rest of the week, I think I'd still have a credit in exercise terms by the end of the week. But I've made a very good start in my endeavour to do more than 100k steps this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.