snstephen

By snstephen

A long way off

It's been difficult to know just how to start this three week urban pilgrimage or search for God in the city of Dublin. But I decided to begin with an old-style pilgrimage to Columcille's Well (about 11km south of where I am staying in the centre of Dublin). Ireland's Columcille is also Scotland's St Columba - a connection which helped confirm the choice. The well itself is not so impressive, but this is a cross that stands in a nearby field and it is a picture that sums up my day in many ways - God in sight but seeming just that little bit out of reach (and it is me who is stuck in the hedge). I am doing this pilgrimage without money or food and so today has been about hunger and humility (and occasionally humiliation, when some requests for help were turned down). I think it is going to be harder than I first anticipated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.