Reading the Good Book

The theme for today's Mono Monday hosted by Dollykgray is "15 Minutes of Fame".  Now having lived a very quiet, secluded life I found this a little taxing.  Then I remembered; in the dim and distant pass when I was at Sunday School, more for the company than the religion, I was entered for a bible reading competition.  I'm not sure why I was selected, maybe it was my Yorkshire twang, anyway I would practise regularly, it was probably a ploy to thrust some religion upon me, though as it was the old testament it was quite meaty.  

To my, and probably the school's, surprise I made it through to the Hull finals to be held at the Methodist Central Hall in the city centre.  The place was crowded when I stood up to the pulpit where a huge bible lay, I read, I stepped down, and when the results were announced I had achieved second place.....my fifteen minutes of fame. 

Obviously I can't remember which passage I read, nor how old I was, I must have still been at primary school, and this bible which Ann's grandma gave her on her 21st birthday, only a couple of years ago then, is not as large or decorative as the bibles from the 19th century, but it will do for my pic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.