Mono Monday: Fifteen minutes of fame

Or fifteen seconds of fear.  During my, at that time, mandatory ten months of military service I was trained to become a telegraph operator.  That year I was one of only two persons awarded the Gold Medal.  At the ceremony the regiment commander, a colonel, said he was very touched by our outstanding achievements. We suspected that his mood also was affected by some early drinks.  When he tried to attach the medal on my chest his hand where shaking very much and I feared he would hit me with the needle.  But eventually everything went smooth and here I am, a couple of decades later, with a lot of useless knowledge of the Morse alphabet.

Today’s extra shows the medal in colour.  After all gold looks better in colour.

Many thanks to Dollykgray for the hosting the Mono Monday Challenge this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.